laindia.blogg.se

Running ubuntu on windows 10 virtualbox
Running ubuntu on windows 10 virtualbox












On my Windows laptop, I wanted to create an environment with Ubuntu as guest Operating System, Visual Studio Code and Node.js available within an Oracle VirtualBox appliance. They don't play nice together so you will need to disable Hyper-V if you plan to use VirtualBox.For a TypeScript training, I needed an environment with Visual Studio Code and Node.js (a JavaScript runtime). But, if you want to run gnome and such, you will need to use Hyper-V unless you use VirtualBox.

running ubuntu on windows 10 virtualbox

And I run them using shortcuts in I put in the Windows 10 Start Screen. This has allowed me to use various Linux apps side by side with Windows apps without using a full virtual machine. I have cupsd service set up to autorun when I logon to Windows (so I can print from firefox and so forth), along with the XServer and pulseaudio. I also am using VcXsrv X Server 1.20.1.4 for Windows and pulseaudio 1.1 for Win32 so that I can get sound with firefox. It takes experimentation and some additional software to run them. Some do, like Synaptic, gnome-commander, and quite a few others others. Some GUI apps do not work, like the gnome-software app. I run both BASH sessions and a number of GUI apps. I still use WSL 1 because WSL 2 still is very buggy, and communication with the XServer and pulseaudio is broken if I use WSL 2. to run OpenCPN (graphics intensive opengl) I will need the fully operable version of 18.04 or 19.04 with Gnome and Gtk etc. However I believe this Store app is just for the "Terminal" version and not the full version. It appears that this June there will be a new Windows Store app for Ubuntu 19.04 using WSL2 Roll your own and submit to MS for approval PSS: Can anyone confirm that they have been using Ubuntu in Windows10 "WSL"? I don't know about use of clipboard between guest and host yet. It looks to me like this will support any installation of linux. PSS: I just realized that I was using WSL "Windows Subsystem for Linux", not Hyper-V! Windows Subsystem for Linux Installation Guide for Windows 10 which is an easy switch in the Windows settings. I tried to run OpenCPN which is graphics intensive and uses openGL and it fails. PS: I just installed the MS App Ubuntu 18.0LTS into the Windows 10 virtual space and it appears to just be a "Terminal" version with Bash and some other utilities, which does not have GTK.

running ubuntu on windows 10 virtualbox

I have 190gb free but would like to keep the use down. How much disk space is generally required? I think I would like a graphic interface like Gnome, I did use Unity for a while. What version should I install to run OpenCPN (linux version) for the next 1-2 years? That leaves just several other questions.

running ubuntu on windows 10 virtualbox

There is a way to solve display resolution problems on high res screens.It appears that Windows 10 virtual machine Hyper-V will run Ubuntu.Ubuntu Hyper-V Guest Display Resolution Win 10 + 15.04 This post answered a number of my questions.














Running ubuntu on windows 10 virtualbox